This website uses third party cookies to improve your experience. If you continue browsing or close this notice, you will accept their use.

Luiss Guido Carli

Logo Luiss



Luiss Guido Carli has its origins in an earlier Roman institution: Pro Deo University, founded in 1966.

In 1974 a group of entrepreneurs led by Umberto Agnelli decided to invest human and financial resources in an innovative educational project aimed at executives.

Luiss adopted a new educational approach, moving in the direction of top-notch international universities.

Other important public and private industrial groups joined the University’s founders in subsequent years, along with financial firms, which brought an authoritative representation of businesspeople to the University’s Board of Directors.

In 1977, the University officially changed its name to Luiss— Libera Università Internazionale degli Studi Sociali, or the Guido Carli Free International University for Social Studies. A year later, Guido Carli, who was then President of the Italian industrial association, Confindustria, became the University’s President. During this period, increased emphasis was put on the underlying elements of Luiss’s educational approach: a rigorous admissions process, a set number of students, the study of foreign languages and IT, and a curriculum that is in line with the needs of the marketplace and  closely linked to the business world.

Guido Carli remained the President of Luiss until his death in 1993.

In 1982, Luiss expanded its number of degree programs. The Department of Law was added to the Departments of Economics and Political Science.

In 1994, the Board of Directors decided to rename the University in memory of Guido Carli.

In 1997, Luiss Management S.p.A. was established for all market-directed educational activities.


  • Father Andrea F. Morlion
    from the University’s establishment to October 31, 1975
  • Mons. Carlo Ferrero
    from November 1, 1975 to October 31, 1978
  • Guido Carli
    from November 1, 1978 to April 23, 1993
  • Luigi Abete
    from November 1, 1993 to July 18, 2001
  • Antonio D'Amato
    from July 18, 2001 to December 20, 2004
  • Luca Cordero di Montezemolo
    from December 20, 2004 to July 15, 2010
  • Emma Marcegaglia
    since July 15, 2010 to June 19, 2019
  • Vincenzo Boccia
    since June 19, 2019


  • Roberto Lucifredi
    from November 1, 1966 to July 27, 1974
  • Giuseppe Mira
    from November 1, 1974 to October 31, 1977
  • Rosario Romeo
    from November 1, 1978 to July 16, 1984
  • Carlo Luigi Scognamiglio
    from November 1, 1984 to June 18, 1992
  • Mario Arcelli
    from July 16, 1992 to September 30, 2002
  • Adriano De Maio
    from October 1, 2002 to June 16, 2005
  • Marcello Foschini
    from June 16, 2005 to September 30, 2006
  • Massimo Egidi
    from October 1, 2006 to October 3, 2016
  • Paola Severino
    since October 3, 2016  to June 18, 2018
  • Andrea Prencipe
    since  June 18, 2018