This website uses third party cookies to improve your experience. If you continue browsing or close this notice, you will accept their use.

Luiss Guido Carli

Logo Luiss

Luiss inaugurates the Intesa Sanpaolo Chair on European Governance

The chair was assigned to the Director of the Luiss Department of Political Science Sergio Fabbrini 


On Monday, November 25, Luiss University inaugurated the Intesa Sanpaolo Chair on European Governance, the first chair dedicated to the transformation of decision-making systems in the European Union.

Participating in the event, organized by the Luiss Department of Political Science, were the European Commissioner for the Economy Paolo Gentiloni, Luiss President Vincenzo Boccia, Vice President Paola Severino, Rector Andrea Prencipe, General Manager Giovanni Lo Storto, Professor Sergio Fabbrini and Jacques Moscianese, Group Head of Institutional Affairs Intesa Sanpaolo.

The chair was assigned to Professor Sergio Fabbrini, Director of the Department of Political Science, for his nationally and internationally recognized work on the theme.

Facing several crises over the past decade, the EU has undergone radical changes. The original sopranational project has been challenged by national governments, working to introduce intergovernmental procedures to manage public policy, especially in areas traditionally linked to national sovreignty, the so-called core state power policies, such as fiscal policy, security policy, migration and asylum policy, defense policy and foreign affairs.

The chair is dedicated to the study of these transformations, with particular regard for Eurozone governance. The future of Europe is a fundamental part of Luiss University's teaching and research.